Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
lepe
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 4:49 am

Getting connection reset... How to solve it?

Fri May 31, 2019 12:22 pm

Hi gals/guys!

I have a MikroTik hAP ac2 as router of a small network. In general it has been working fine with the exception that sometimes (often in specific scenarios) we got connection reset issues.
The issue has been going for months and I have tried many things without success. I want to try again, this time with your help.

The network has a single router (Mikrotik) which is a PPPoE client (with my ISP) and it is used mainly as DNS, DHCP, VPN (L2TP) server and firewall.

Usual problems which I have identified as connection reset:
1) When connecting to the VPN (from outside that network), sometimes the connections drops immediately. After retrying, the connection succeed.
2) From inside the network, while using a system and requesting some service from a remote server (e.g. downloading a file) in which it takes about 1 minute or more to prepare the data before receiving it, the browser fails with "connection reset" error. However, requesting the same service from a computer outside the network to the same server, finish without any issue.
3) When connecting through SSH to a remote server outside the network (or from outside to inside the network), the terminal freezes or gets disconnected often. Specially if a command is executed which expects at least 1 or 2 screens of data ( for example listing a directory with many files ). However, most of the times, if I keep pressing some key (like space), even though it get stuck for few seconds, the output is returned completely and it doesn't disconnect. It also happens more often when its waiting for a password, and after entering it, it gets disconnected. If I leave the terminal open (without entering any command) it can last for hours without getting disconnected, so I don't think its related to "keep alive" or a "time out" issue. In the same way, if the commands entered return few lines (an no much delay), it has no problems.

In general we don't have any issues in the local network or browsing sites, its mainly the above issues.

This is my firewall configuration:
 0  D ;;; special dummy rule to show fasttrack counters
      chain=forward action=passthrough 

 1    ;;; defconf: accept established,related,untracked
      chain=input action=accept connection-state=established,related,untracked 

 2    ;;; Enable Mikrotik SSH
      chain=input action=accept protocol=tcp dst-port=22 log=yes log-prefix="" 

 3    ;;; allow IPsec NAT
      chain=input action=accept protocol=udp dst-port=4500 

 4    ;;; allow IKE
      chain=input action=accept protocol=udp dst-port=500 

 5    ;;; allow l2tp
      chain=input action=accept protocol=udp dst-port=1701 

 6    ;;; PPTP
      chain=input action=accept protocol=tcp dst-port=1723 

 7    ;;; allow sstp
      chain=input action=accept protocol=tcp dst-port=443 log=no log-prefix="" 

 8    ;;; defconf: drop all not coming from LAN
      chain=input action=drop in-interface-list=!LAN log=no log-prefix="NOTLAN" 

 9    ;;; Block WIN Input LAN
      chain=input action=drop src-address-list=win_servers dst-address-list=local_network log=yes log-prefix="WIN-IN-" 

10    ;;; Block SSH from outside
      chain=input action=drop protocol=tcp in-interface=pppoe-out dst-port=22 log=no log-prefix="NOSSH" 

11    ;;; defconf: accept ICMP - PING
      chain=input action=accept protocol=icmp log=no log-prefix="" 

12    ;;; defconf: drop invalid
      chain=input action=drop connection-state=invalid log=no log-prefix="INVALID" 

13    ;;; defconf: fasttrack
      chain=forward action=fasttrack-connection connection-state=established,related 

14    ;;; defconf: accept in ipsec policy
      chain=forward action=accept ipsec-policy=in,ipsec 

15    ;;; defconf: accept out ipsec policy
      chain=forward action=accept ipsec-policy=out,ipsec

16    ;;; Block Windows Server to LAN
      chain=forward action=drop src-address-list=win_servers dst-address-list=local_network log=yes log-prefix="WIN-" 

17    ;;; defconf:  drop all from WAN not DSTNATed
      chain=forward action=drop connection-state=new connection-nat-state=!dstnat in-interface-list=WAN log=no log-prefix="FWD-NODST" 

18    ;;; Drop incoming packets that are not NATted
      chain=forward action=drop connection-state=new connection-nat-state=!dstnat in-interface=ether1-WAN log=no log-prefix="!NAT" 

19    ;;; defconf: drop invalid
      chain=forward action=drop connection-state=invalid log=no log-prefix="FWD-INVALID"
PPPoE configuration:
 0  R name="pppoe-out" max-mtu=auto max-mru=auto mrru=disabled interface=ether1-WAN user="********@**********" password="*******" profile=default keepalive-timeout=100 service-name="ISP" 
      ac-name="" add-default-route=yes default-route-distance=1 dial-on-demand=no use-peer-dns=yes allow=pap,chap,mschap1,mschap2

How can I debug this issue, and how can I solve it?
 
R1CH
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1109
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 11:44 pm

Re: Getting connection reset... How to solve it?

Fri May 31, 2019 1:37 pm

Probably need to clamp MSS to PMTU.

https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:I ... Change_MSS
 
lepe
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 4:49 am

Re: Getting connection reset... How to solve it?

Fri May 31, 2019 4:47 pm

Thanks R1CH, I executed:
/ip firewall mangle 
add out-interface=pppoe-out protocol=tcp tcp-flags=syn action=change-mss new-mss=1300 chain=forward tcp-mss=1301-65535
as explained. I updated the router and restarted but the issue is still there. Any other suggestion?
 
User avatar
sindy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 11468
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:19 pm

Re: Getting connection reset... How to solve it?

Fri May 31, 2019 5:17 pm

Whereas MTU-related issues are responsible for most mysterious behaviours like this one, as you say that you can keep the connections alive by generating extra data, I'd rather expect some firewall along the path between the client and the server to have unusually short timeouts. So if there is nothing but the Mikrotik between the client and server between which you experience the issue, what's the output of /ip firewall connection tracking print? Bear in mind that there may also be firewalls on the client and/on server themselves.
 
lepe
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 4:49 am

Re: Getting connection reset... How to solve it?

Fri May 31, 2019 6:42 pm

Thanks sindy, this is the output:
   enabled: auto
      tcp-syn-sent-timeout: 5s
  tcp-syn-received-timeout: 5s
   tcp-established-timeout: 5s
      tcp-fin-wait-timeout: 10s
    tcp-close-wait-timeout: 10s
      tcp-last-ack-timeout: 10s
     tcp-time-wait-timeout: 10s
         tcp-close-timeout: 10s
   tcp-max-retrans-timeout: 5m
       tcp-unacked-timeout: 5m
        loose-tcp-tracking: yes
               udp-timeout: 10s
        udp-stream-timeout: 3m
              icmp-timeout: 10s
           generic-timeout: 10m
               max-entries: 184880
             total-entries: 7279
This is happening with several servers. I have control of those servers, so I can assure you that those servers are not blocking anything special. Also I have tried with several computers inside the local network with the same results. If there was some firewall causing that issue at the server side, it would happen the same when I'm connected outside the local network that I have talked about. In summary, these issues only happen in that network, and mikrotik is the only device that has changed (before it didn't happen).
 
User avatar
sindy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 11468
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:19 pm

Re: Getting connection reset... How to solve it?

Fri May 31, 2019 7:59 pm

Thanks sindy, this is the output:
same like the default values on my own hAP ac² except the max-entries which is 444768 in my case. What RouterOS version do you run?

mikrotik is the only device that has changed (before it didn't happen).
What means "has changed"? Did you have a router from a different vendor before, or a different model of Mikrotik, or a different RouterOS on the hAP ac²?

Besides, I have noticed that you have rules for IPsec but at the same time you have unrestricted fasttracking rule in forward chain. Do you use IPsec policies to directly route transit (i.e. forwarded) packets via IPsec or you only use IPsec to encrypt transport packets of tunneling protocols? Fasttracking used to be incompatible with IPsec policies forwarding packets with older versions of RouterOS and mysteriously isn't any more with 6.44.3.
 
lepe
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 4:49 am

Re: Getting connection reset... How to solve it?

Mon Jun 03, 2019 6:21 am

same like the default values on my own hAP ac² except the max-entries which is 444768 in my case. What RouterOS version do you run?
The version is the last one (stable): 6.44.3.
What means "has changed"? Did you have a router from a different vendor before, or a different model of Mikrotik, or a different RouterOS on the hAP ac²?
Before, we had another mikrotik router (hEX RB750Gr2), and it was working fine. However, we were not using VPN. The settings were exported from that one into the new one. Things didn't go well, so I reset the configuration in the new device and just copy the configuration that I needed (like firewall, PPPoE settings, DHCP and DNS). After that I added the VPN. I'm not sure if the VPN setup has anything to do with this issue, but its the main difference with my previous setup. Removing the VPN at this point would be difficult as it is being frequently used.
Besides, I have noticed that you have rules for IPsec but at the same time you have unrestricted fasttracking rule in forward chain. Do you use IPsec policies to directly route transit (i.e. forwarded) packets via IPsec or you only use IPsec to encrypt transport packets of tunneling protocols? Fasttracking used to be incompatible with IPsec policies forwarding packets with older versions of RouterOS and mysteriously isn't any more with 6.44.3.
I'm using IPsec to encrypt L2TP protocol. I don't have much experience with those protocols... I follow some guides to set it up. I tried to keep it simple. The main VPN usage is to connect to the local network from outside (no forwarding to other networks or anything more complex).

These are my L2TP server settings:
/interface l2tp-server server> print  
               enabled: yes
               max-mtu: 1450
               max-mru: 1450
                  mrru: disabled
        authentication: pap,chap,mschap1,mschap2
     keepalive-timeout: 30
          max-sessions: unlimited
       default-profile: default-encryption
             use-ipsec: yes
          ipsec-secret: *******************
        caller-id-type: ip-address
  one-session-per-host: no
       allow-fast-path: no
And my IPSec settings:
/ip ipsec profile> print  
 0 * name="default" hash-algorithm=sha1 enc-algorithm=aes-128,3des dh-group=modp2048,modp1024 lifetime=1d proposal-check=obey nat-traversal=yes dpd-interval=2m dpd-maximum-failures=5 

/ip ipsec peer> print  
 0  DR name="peer1" passive=yes profile=default exchange-mode=main send-initial-contact=yes 
 
/ip ipsec policy> print  
 0 T * group=default src-address=::/0 dst-address=::/0 protocol=all proposal=default template=yes 
 1  DA  src-address=111.111.111.111/32 src-port=1701 dst-address=222.222.222.222/32 dst-port=57428 protocol=udp action=encrypt level=unique ipsec-protocols=esp tunnel=no proposal=default ph2-count=1 
 
/ip ipsec identity> print  
 0 D  peer=peer1 auth-method=pre-shared-key remote-id=ignore secret="*************************************" generate-policy=port-strict
** Note: I changed the IP addresses.

Cheers!
 
lepe
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 4:49 am

Re: Getting connection reset... How to solve it?

Tue Jul 09, 2019 4:49 am

Bump...
Does anyone have any other suggestion I can try? I haven't been able to solve this issue yet.
 
lepe
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 4:49 am

Re: Getting connection reset... How to solve it?

Mon Aug 19, 2019 7:37 am

I couldn't find the reason. I reset all the configuration and added everything back manually except for the VPN settings (I will do that other day). So far the issue seems to be gone.
 
User avatar
Maggiore81
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 619
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:10 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Getting connection reset... How to solve it?

Sat Dec 28, 2019 10:56 am

Thanks sindy, this is the output:
   enabled: auto
      tcp-syn-sent-timeout: 5s
  tcp-syn-received-timeout: 5s
   tcp-established-timeout: 5s
      tcp-fin-wait-timeout: 10s
    tcp-close-wait-timeout: 10s
      tcp-last-ack-timeout: 10s
     tcp-time-wait-timeout: 10s
         tcp-close-timeout: 10s
   tcp-max-retrans-timeout: 5m
       tcp-unacked-timeout: 5m
        loose-tcp-tracking: yes
               udp-timeout: 10s
        udp-stream-timeout: 3m
              icmp-timeout: 10s
           generic-timeout: 10m
               max-entries: 184880
             total-entries: 7279
This is happening with several servers. I have control of those servers, so I can assure you that those servers are not blocking anything special. Also I have tried with several computers inside the local network with the same results. If there was some firewall causing that issue at the server side, it would happen the same when I'm connected outside the local network that I have talked about. In summary, these issues only happen in that network, and mikrotik is the only device that has changed (before it didn't happen).
tcp established timeout is too low 5s.
keep at 1h
 
dnwklin
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2022 8:08 pm

Re: Getting connection reset... How to solve it?

Wed May 08, 2024 11:36 pm

I have a similar issue of getting TCP RST for http connections. Then I discovered it maybe a issue of insufficient power via PoE. My ethernet cable maybe too long and too thin there maybe an issue of powering the device. After I plug the device directly to power and the issue went away.