Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
doublecaps
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 1:52 pm

Simple Queue troubles

Wed Sep 01, 2010 12:14 am

Hello,

as "simple" as a SIMPLE QUEUE might appear, I'm having some issue with them.

I'm trying to setup a QUEUE to monitor traffic to each one of our hosted applications.
We are currently using 3 interfaces 1 LAN, WAN1 for generic internet traffic and WAN2 specifically for traffic to the hosted applications I'm trying to monitor.
Static routing rules direct traffic through WAN2 for these applications.

Here is one of the Queues I created:
;;; Monitor Traffic to Net-App1
name="Net-App1" target-addresses=192.188.0.0/16 dst-address=xxx.151.185.231/32
interface=ether1->LAN parent=none direction=both priority=8 queue=default-small/default-small
limit-at=0/0 max-limit=0/0 burst-limit=0/0 burst-threshold=0/0 burst-time=0s/0s
total-queue=default-small

When I Torch with these settings I can see all the traffic to this host, however the traffic tab, statistics tab as well as the graph I setup for this queue show no traffic at all.

I also tried to setup the queue using these setting but I get the same results.
name="Net-App1 Backwards" target-addresses=xxx.151.185.231/32 dst-address=0.0.0.0/0
interface=ether3->WAN2 parent=none direction=both priority=8
queue=default-small/default-small limit-at=0/0 max-limit=0/0 burst-limit=0/0
burst-threshold=0/0 burst-time=0s/0s total-queue=default-small

Can someone shed some light on my ignorance?

It would be helpful if someone could explain better the use of target-address and dst-address a little better. Even the Wiki is a little vague.
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Qu ... -addresses
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7717
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Simple Queue troubles

Wed Sep 01, 2010 12:37 am

;;; Monitor Traffic to Net-App1
name="Net-App1" target-addresses=192.188.0.0/16
That IP address looks wrong. Are you really using non-RFC1918 space for the apps, or is 192.188.0.0/16 a typo in the target address? If so, that explains why the queue isn't firing.
 
doublecaps
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 1:52 pm

Re: Simple Queue troubles

Wed Sep 01, 2010 6:45 pm

It's not a typo
Those are the correct IP addresses. Don't ask me why it was designed this way.
We have multiple remote offices, each one with identified with a distinct number in the 3rd octet.
 
snowcrash
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 4:27 am

Re: Simple Queue troubles

Wed Sep 01, 2010 9:35 pm

Try changing your queue type from default-small to default.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: broderick, jaclaz, McGremlin and 34 guests