Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
keepaime
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 4:24 pm

multiple vlans, multiple pools in one hotspot server

Mon Mar 24, 2014 5:17 pm

hello guys, I take multiple vlans with multiple DHCP Server, and Cisco Switch gets 802.1Q trunk with my ros,
now I wanna to creat hotspot server, my question is :
- can I use one hotspot server for all clients in each vlan ?

ex. 3 vlans :
p.jpg
code:
/interface vlan
add interface=ether2 l2mtu=1594 name=vlan1 vlan-id=1
add interface=ether2 l2mtu=1594 name=vlan2 vlan-id=2
add interface=ether2 l2mtu=1594 name=vlan3 vlan-id=3

/ip pool
add name=vlan1 ranges=192.168.1.2-192.168.1.200
add name=vlan2 ranges=192.168.2.2-192.168.2.200
add name=vlan3 ranges=192.168.3.2-192.168.3.200

/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=vlan1 disabled=no interface=vlan1 name=vlan1
add address-pool=vlan2 disabled=no interface=vlan2 name=vlan2
add address-pool=vlan3 disabled=no interface=vlan3 name=vlan3

/ip address
add address=1.1.1.1/30 interface=ether2 network=1.1.1.0
add address=192.168.1.1/24 interface=vlan1 network=192.168.1.0
add address=192.168.2.1/24 interface=vlan2 network=192.168.2.0
add address=192.168.3.1/24 interface=vlan3 network=192.168.3.0


/ip dhcp-server network
add address=192.168.1.0/24 gateway=192.168.1.1
add address=192.168.2.0/24 gateway=192.168.2.1
add address=192.168.3.0/24 gateway=192.168.3.1

/ip route
add dst-address=192.168.0.0/16 gateway=1.1.1.2


now, I wanna:
- One hotspot definition
-Hotspot doing DHCP with each DHCP pool (each vlan pool)

how can I do it ?
thanks ! :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
cadamuroa
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 5:55 am
Location: Brazil

Re: multiple vlans, multiple pools in one hotspot server

Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:12 am

Hey keepaime,

I have the same situation here in Brasil, in a company that I work. I would like to segregate my network in vlans using one unique hotspot server too.
Do you did this setup? :D
 
cadamuroa
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 5:55 am
Location: Brazil

Re: multiple vlans, multiple pools in one hotspot server

Tue Jun 09, 2015 2:35 pm

Hey keepaime,

I have the same situation here in Brasil, in a company that I work. I would like to segregate my network in vlans using one unique hotspot server too.
Do you did this setup? :D

Hi,

I did this setup here, If you need let me know.
 
User avatar
Bytezone
newbie
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2015 6:01 am

Re: multiple vlans, multiple pools in one hotspot server

Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:18 pm

how interesting to see exactly what u look for !! :D

cadamuroa .. actually i was searching the whole day for such configuration and i came to the same point which is how to share the hotspot page across all the vlan subnets..

Well appreciate your help in this :)

cheers..
 
cadamuroa
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 5:55 am
Location: Brazil

Re: multiple vlans, multiple pools in one hotspot server

Mon Mar 21, 2016 9:21 pm

how interesting to see exactly what u look for !! :D

cadamuroa .. actually i was searching the whole day for such configuration and i came to the same point which is how to share the hotspot page across all the vlan subnets..

Well appreciate your help in this :)

cheers..
Hi Bytezone, how are you?

I will prepare a post explain that I did here today at night (here is 4:20pm).

Best Regards,
 
User avatar
Bytezone
newbie
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2015 6:01 am

Re: multiple vlans, multiple pools in one hotspot server

Tue Mar 22, 2016 11:17 am

how interesting to see exactly what u look for !! :D

cadamuroa .. actually i was searching the whole day for such configuration and i came to the same point which is how to share the hotspot page across all the vlan subnets..

Well appreciate your help in this :)

cheers..
Hi Bytezone, how are you?

I will prepare a post explain that I did here today at night (here is 4:20pm).

Best Regards,
===========================

i'm great thanks man..

OK i'm waiting for that post ... and if you don't mind share the link of that post here so we can find it easly .. great to hear from you Adriano :)

Wormiest Regards,
 
User avatar
pukkita
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 3051
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:09 am
Location: Spain

Re: multiple vlans, multiple pools in one hotspot server

Tue Mar 22, 2016 11:24 am

- One hotspot definition
-Hotspot doing DHCP with each DHCP pool (each vlan pool)

how can I do it ?
Short answer: you can't AFAIK. hotspot/DHCP operate on a given broadcast domain, cannot see how to make a single DHCP server to give out ips from different subnets based on interface.

I could be possible if you knew MACs in advance, to make them static, something which is not going to happen on a hotspot.

Very curious on cadamuroa solution.

Long answer:

If you want a single hotspot server you'd need to bridge all the vlans and run the hotspot over it.

As you won't want to allow traffic across vlans, you'll need to set up all vlan ports in the bridge with same horizon value.

You'll need to disable all the vlan DHCP servers and set up a single DHCP server over that bridge, or just follow hotspot wizard and select that interface.

I can't see the point of doing that however (I'd rather prefer to have each vlan under its own hotspot, better for management).

If what you want is having the same captive portal pages, you can accomplish by setting the same HTML Directory in each hotspot profile while having several hotspot servers.