Page 1 of 1

connecting two different subnet over PTP link route issue.

Posted: Mon Feb 08, 2016 4:23 pm
by pixelkop
Connecting two different branches by PTP link. having two RB750 at both side connected by PTP link and network.


Site A:- RB750
/interface bridge
add name=bridge1
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether2 ] name=Ether2
/ip address
add address=192.168.245.73/24 interface=ether3 network=192.168.245.0
add address=172.16.0.1/24 interface=Ether2 network=172.16.0.0
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface=ether3
/ip route
add distance=1 dst-address=172.16.3.0/24 gateway=192.168.245.71 (PTP Link)
/system routerboard settings
set cpu-frequency=850MHz

Site B- RB750
/interface bridge
add name=bridge1
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether2 ] name=Ether2
/ip address
add address=172.16.3.1/24 interface=Ether2 network=172.16.3.0
add address=192.168.245.72/24 interface=ether3 network=192.168.245.0
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface=ether3
/ip route
add distance=1 dst-address=172.16.0.0/24 gateway=192.168.245.70 (PTP Link)
/system routerboard settings
set cpu-frequency=850MHz

from site A Desktop 171.16.0.20 i can not ping Site B Desktop ip 172.16.3.20

is any route missing.
please help me

Re: connecting two different subnet over PTP link route issue.

Posted: Mon Feb 08, 2016 4:55 pm
by ZeroByte
Connecting two different branches by PTP link. having two RB750 at both side connected by PTP link and network.


Site A:- RB750
/ip address
add address=192.168.245.73/24 interface=ether3 network=192.168.245.0
add address=172.16.0.1/24 interface=Ether2 network=172.16.0.0

Site B- RB750
/ip route
add distance=1 dst-address=172.16.0.0/24 gateway=192.168.245.70 (PTP Link)

from site A Desktop 171.16.0.20 i can not ping Site B Desktop ip 172.16.3.20

is any route missing.
please help me
Why did you use 192.168.245.70 as the next-hop address in site2? (see the red highlights above)
On Site B, the gateway should be 192.168.245.73
On Site A, the gateway should be 192.168.245.72

Also - remove the NAT rules on the ptp link, unless you really want hosts at 172.16.1.x to see all connections from site A appearing to be from 192.168.245.73 instead of their 172.16.0.x addresses.

Re: connecting two different subnet over PTP link route issue.

Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2016 8:39 am
by pixelkop
hey...thanks a lots....its working removed nat and changed gateway