Page 1 of 1

Graph a value even though it is down

Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2018 4:19 pm
by raytaylor
Hi Guys
We have a function voltage() which we would like to graph. The function simply looks up the OID and pulls a value.
If voltage falls below 24 then we want it to consider the probe as down, but still output a value for the graphing.
At the moment if the voltage is above 24, it graphs perfectly well. But if it falls below 24, it doesnt show anything.

On the probe settings i have
Avaliable: Voltage()
Error: if(Voltage()>24, "", "down")
Value: Voltage()

If i change the error line to
Error: if(Voltage()>24, "", "")
Then it never considers it to be a problem even if the value drops below 24. I tested this by setting it to 26 instead of 24

Your help or suggestions are much appreciated.

Re: Graph a value even though it is down  [SOLVED]

Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 10:48 pm
by rextended
Hi Guys
We have a function voltage() which we would like to graph. The function simply looks up the OID and pulls a value.
If voltage falls below 24 then we want it to consider the probe as down, but still output a value for the graphing.
At the moment if the voltage is above 24, it graphs perfectly well. But if it falls below 24, it doesnt show anything.

On the probe settings i have
Avaliable: Voltage()
Error: if(Voltage()>24, "", "down")
Value: Voltage()

If i change the error line to
Error: if(Voltage()>24, "", "")
Then it never considers it to be a problem even if the value drops below 24. I tested this by setting it to 26 instead of 24

Your help or suggestions are much appreciated.
Put two probe, one at 24v warning, the other at 0v warning.
The first warn you, the second simply record the voltage.

Re: Graph a value even though it is down

Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 2:25 pm
by raytaylor
Thanks - Thats an awesome idea.
So simple, yet Brilliant!