Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
mtk
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 2:38 am

Update my provider arp cache

Sun Mar 18, 2007 11:07 pm

How can I update my provider's arp cache?
If I change some interfaces, it takes a lot of time to update my provider's arp cache. When using linux I used to type something like:

echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_nonlocal_bind

arping -U -I vlan100 -c 10 -s MYPROXYARPPED_ADDRESS MY_ISP_GATEWAY

echo 0 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_nonlocal_bind

This way I could update theirs address... I cannot find something similar in mikrotik. Last time I had to phone them to "clear arp-cache" on their cisco routers...

I want to find a way to send unsolicited arpings.... Any clue?
 
mtk
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 2:38 am

...

Mon Mar 19, 2007 9:26 pm

Anyone there ?
Can't believe there is not arping -U or something similar !
 
colvinb
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 6:35 am

Re: Update my provider arp cache

Wed Oct 05, 2011 8:56 am

Hello, it may be a few years after your post, however I needed to do a similar thing and found the following script at http://wiki.bluecrow.net/index.php/Mikr ... _arp_cache
---------------------------------------------

:log info "clearing arp table of dynamic entries"
:local counter 0
:local delaytime 5
:local numloops 12

:while ($counter < $numloops) do={ \

:log info "clearing arp loop"

:foreach i in=[/ip arp find dynamic=yes] do={ \
/ip arp remove $i
}

:log info "delaying..."

:delay $delaytime

}