Page 1 of 1

Measure download speed with Cloudflare

Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 12:15 pm
by James56
I want to measure download speed and came up with this:
/tool fetch url="https://speed.cloudflare.com/__down?measId=4436923120229031&bytes=1000000" mode=https

  downloaded: 976KiB
       total: 976KiB
    duration: 1s
Unfortunately the duration is to the nearest second.
I could download a bigger file but that could clog the pipe.

Any suggestions for how to get a better estimate of b/s ?

Re: Measure download speed with Cloudflare

Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 3:11 pm
by neutronlaser
Clog the pipe?

Re: Measure download speed with Cloudflare

Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 4:43 pm
by normis
Isn't clogging the pipe the purpose of any speed test? To get the maximum possible speed, to see what you can handle :) ?
It's only 10MB, it will not take that long.

Re: Measure download speed with Cloudflare

Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 5:06 pm
by James56
Sorry, Clog the pipe = fill the link with traffic.

It's true it will not take long if the link is running at say 40Mb/s but if it running at say 2Mb/s (which it does when its "ill") it will take 20x longer and the "pipe" will be "clogged" for much longer.

Ideally I would download a small amount, say 100k and measure that.

If the speed is slow I can take action in my watchdog.

I'm also concerned that filling the pipe will increase ping times and the watchdog my trigger wrongly.

Background:
I was running on B3 15MHz, SINR +10db and getting 20-40Mb/s for about 6 days with no breaks :)
Then over a period of about 24 hours SINR went gradually to -10b. Speed dropped to about 2Mb/s (which is slower than my backup link).
I suspect the CA took over (B20 5MHz).
Ping was still fine so my watchdog did not realize the link was rubbish.

So I thought I could add to the watchdog:
If (SINR < 2 && MB/s < 4) {
	Turn off LTE for 1 hour (My load balancer will then switch in ADSL)
}
Hence the need to measure speed.

Re: Measure download speed with Cloudflare

Posted: Sat Sep 12, 2020 1:43 am
by James56
Failing that anyone know how to read lte "Rx Rate" in a script ?