Page 1 of 1

load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Posted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:29 am
by xbaha
hi,
is it possible to load balance (or share) multiple PPPoE connections, while the ip is dynamic (assigned by the ISP) ?
the ip->route doesnt assign correctly the routing table!
i.e. if i have two connections pppoe1 and pppoe2 connected, the routing table looks like this:
0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 pppoe1 (ip of pppoe1)
0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 pppoe1 (ip of pppoe1)

where is pppoe2 ??

has anyone successfully done this?
i read the wiki, but it's only if my IP is static.

please let me know, if not is this a near feature in the OS?

thanks.

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Posted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 9:51 pm
by guroth
if both ppoe connections use the same peer gateway then it wont work, although I hear in 3.0 beta it works.

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Posted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:03 pm
by xbaha
yes, same gateway (and same ISP)...
i tried latest version, didnt work.

any discussions on this on other topics??

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 10:20 am
by normis
interface based routing should help. if ip of GW is the same, you can create routes based only on outgoing interface. this is in ROSv3

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 11:43 am
by xbaha
how do you create a new route to an interface?? this is great feature by the way.
but i tried to do it, the interface field cant be modified???
pls see attached shot

also, may i ask how many pppoe connections i can make?

thanks.

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 12:28 pm
by normis
should work like this:
[normis@demo2.mt.lv] > ip route add gateway=
wlan1  wlan2  ether1  ether2  
but that won't help to load-balance. your ISP will give you two IPs of the same range which will cause more problems than benefits. the only realistic solution is having 3 routers.

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:27 pm
by shielder
It's better for you to add rb150 after your modem and before your distribution router.

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 3:21 pm
by xbaha
What if my ISP will give me the same IP for both PPPoE, would that be any help?

i am just woundering, if such a routes can be added as static:
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 pppoe1
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 pppoe2

both same metric, and then, any traffic will be natted on the same IP of the connection, this way, i can load balance the outgoing traffic only (MT should take care of this, does it?), which somehow will load balance the incomming.

i have done similar config in cisco, and it works fine..

thanks.

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 5:57 pm
by xbaha
-> It's better for you to add rb150 after your modem and before your distribution router.

What if the PPPoE link on the rb went down, how would the router know that the RB PPPoE went down and stop forwarding traffic through it???

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 4:48 am
by shielder
1. you can create a watchdog to keep watching your ISP gateway, if it's down, reboot the RB150 router
2. set a script on RB150 to automatically disabled ip address of your local ethernet (which is connected to your router) whenever you couldn't ping to ISP gateway. your distribution router would not pass the traffic to an unreacheable RB150.

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 2:05 pm
by xbaha
>>2. set a script on RB150 to automatically disabled ip address of your local ethernet (which is connected to your router) whenever you couldn't ping to ISP gateway. your distribution router would not pass the traffic to an unreacheable RB150.

can you help with such a script that disabled eth1 when pppoe connection go down?

thanks;

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 11:18 am
by shielder
/tool netwatch add host=10.1.1.10 timeout=1s interval=1m up-script=enable down-script=disable

/system script add name="disable" source="/interface disable ether1"

/system script add name="enable" source="/interface enable ether1"

nb. Host is the ip address of your PPPoE gateway

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 11:54 am
by xbaha
Hi, thanks for this,
i have a question, this script will run on the distribution router or the RB150 between dsl modem & the router?
i am assuming this is on the distribution router, if yes, then how can the RB150 know that it's PPPoE has dropped?
netwatch watches IP address, i am getting dynamic IP.

Thanks.

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 5:57 pm
by shielder
the script is for RB150. Script would automatically disable interface which links to your distribution router.

Let's say you have 4 RB150 which local interface (connect to your distribution router) address is :
Router A :192.168.1.1
Router B :192.168.2.1
Router C :192.168.3.1
Router D :192.168.4.1

You need to set check gateway function (in IP route) in your distribution router
If the gateway failed on router A, script on router A would disable it's ethernet (192.168.1.1), so that your distribution router would not pass the traffic to router A.

Hope this could help you.

Regards,
Budiarto

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 10:05 pm
by Sylbatyo
interface based routing should help. if ip of GW is the same, you can create routes based only on outgoing interface. this is in ROSv3
Hi!

And what is if I have two different ISP different dynamic IP?

Could I set Load balancing in 2.9.50 or 3.0 rc13 (I use this ver now)?

Thanks:
Szilard

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Posted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 3:54 pm
by sandov63
should work like this:

Code:
[normis@demo2.mt.lv] > ip route add gateway=
wlan1 wlan2 ether1 ether2



Normis it doesnt work,, look


[admin@Mult] ip route> add gateway=ether1
invalid value for argument address

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Posted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 7:15 pm
by Akangage
Maybe thiz one can help you... thiz iz my config

Image

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 5:47 am
by Akangage
You can try 1st then you can get the conclusion

Re: load balancing across multiple pppoe connections

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 5:56 pm
by Chupaka
[admin@Mult] ip route> add gateway=ether1
invalid value for argument address
ROS v3? p.s. maybe, add 'address' argument? :)