Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
dnnix
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2023 3:12 pm
Location: Washington, DC
Contact:

[SOLVED] Clients of Station Bridge not getting DHCP

Mon Jan 15, 2024 4:23 am

Ok, so I have this HAP ax2, and it's connecting in station-bridge config without issue to my wireless network.

Clients on the ether ports of the HAP ax2 aren't getting DHCP, though... the ether interfaces are just one big bridge. Any ideas?

Here's the configuration, it's pretty straightforward:
# 2024-01-14 21:19:28 by RouterOS 7.14beta6
# software id = WU29-BLCC
#
# model = C52iG-5HaxD2HaxD
# serial number = HEP08XS9X0H
/interface bridge
add name=bridge1
/interface wifi
set [ find default-name=wifi1 ] channel.band=5ghz-ax .frequency=5805 .skip-dfs-channels=all .width=20mhz configuration.country="United States" .mode=station-bridge .ssid=Hector disabled=no
/interface list
add name=LAN
add name=UPLINK
/interface wifi security
add authentication-types=wpa3-psk disabled=no encryption=ccmp-256,gcmp-256 name=sec1
/system logging action
add email-to=noc@noc.com name=email target=email
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface=LAN
/ip firewall connection tracking
set udp-timeout=10s
/ipv6 settings
set disable-ipv6=yes
/interface list member
add interface=ether1 list=LAN
add interface=ether2 list=LAN
add interface=ether3 list=LAN
add interface=ether4 list=LAN
add interface=ether5 list=LAN
add interface=wifi1 list=UPLINK
/ip dhcp-client
add interface=wifi1
/system clock
set time-zone-name=America/New_York
/system identity
set name=livingroom-client-ap
/system logging
add action=email topics=critical,warning,account
/system note
set show-at-login=no
/system ntp client
set enabled=yes
/system ntp client servers
add address=10.62.14.1
/system package update
set channel=testing
Last edited by dnnix on Mon Jan 15, 2024 5:49 pm, edited 2 times in total.
 
User avatar
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 11759
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: Clients of Station Bridge not getting DHCP

Mon Jan 15, 2024 11:20 am

/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface=LAN
Nope, you can't add ports to bridge by using interface list, you have to add them one-by-one. E.g.
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether1
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether2
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether3
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether4
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether5
add bridge=bridge1 interface=wifi1

And then further down

/interface list member
add interface=ether1 list=LAN
add interface=ether2 list=LAN
add interface=ether3 list=LAN
add interface=ether4 list=LAN
add interface=ether5 list=LAN
add interface=wifi1 list=UPLINK
you only add bridge1 interface to any interface list you might need (but for device to act as transparent gateway between local wired island and the rest of network via wireless hop you don't need any interface lists IMO since you're not using interface lists apart from incorrect use quoted above).
 
dnnix
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2023 3:12 pm
Location: Washington, DC
Contact:

Re: Clients of Station Bridge not getting DHCP

Mon Jan 15, 2024 5:44 pm

Yep, that was the issue. Thanks a lot.

I also removed DHCP client from the wifi1 interface and made it a static address for management, since DHCP client was unhappy with a passthrough interface being bound to it, which is no big deal.

Final, working, config:
# 2024-01-15 10:47:36 by RouterOS 7.14beta6
# software id = WU29-BLCC
#
# model = C52iG-5HaxD2HaxD
# serial number = HEP08XS9X0H
/interface bridge
add name=bridge1
/interface wifi
set [ find default-name=wifi1 ] channel.band=5ghz-ax .frequency=5805 .skip-dfs-channels=all .width=20mhz configuration.country="United States" .mode=station-bridge .ssid=Hector disabled=no
/interface wifi security
add authentication-types=wpa3-psk disabled=no encryption=ccmp-256,gcmp-256 name=sec1
/system logging action
add email-to=noc@noc.com name=email target=email
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether1
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether2
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether3
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether4
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether5
add bridge=bridge1 interface=wifi1
/ip firewall connection tracking
set udp-timeout=10s
/ipv6 settings
set disable-ipv6=yes
/ip address
add address=10.62.14.6/24 interface=wifi1 network=10.62.14.0
/system clock
set time-zone-name=America/New_York
/system identity
set name=livingroom-client-ap
/system logging
add action=email topics=critical,warning,account
/system note
set show-at-login=no
/system ntp client
set enabled=yes
/system ntp client servers
add address=10.62.14.1
/system package update
set channel=testing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kanzler and 3 guests