Page 1 of 1
How to add 2 gateways and seperate clients
Posted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 7:41 pm
by kameelperdza
Im using routing on my mikrotiks and was able to setup a gateway by doing this.
add dst network 0.0.0.0/0 gateway 178.242.0.200
But i want to add a second gateway and seperate the busy client from he non-busy clients.
When i add a second gateway to the existing gateway then the internet wont work.
So do i need to create a route to gateway for each network that i have?
for example.
add dst network 192.168.0.0/24 gateway (gateway1)
add dst network 172.16.0.0/24 gateway (gateway2)
add dst network 198.44.1.0/24 gateway (gateway2)
add dst network 192.168.44.0/24 gateway (gateway1)
add dst network 192.168.6.0/24 gateway (gateway1)
Thanx
Re: How to add 2 gateways and seperate clients
Posted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:35 pm
by Chupaka
When i add a second gateway to the existing gateway then the internet wont work.
you mean, 'add second gateway to the existing default route'? it's called ECMP and it should work - check your NAT rules...
but if you need something more cool than ECMP - you create different default routes with different routing-marks, and then mark upload packets according to necessary gateway
Re: How to add 2 gateways and seperate clients
Posted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 3:30 pm
by netrat
If you just want to route the other clients through the secondary gateway then you need to use policy routing. This should get you started
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Policy_Ro ... uterOS_3.x
Re: How to add 2 gateways and seperate clients
Posted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 4:29 pm
by kameelperdza
Thank you for your help
Re: How to add 2 gateways and seperate clients
Posted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 11:44 am
by kameelperdza
When i add a second gateway to the existing gateway then the internet wont work.
you mean, 'add second gateway to the existing default route'? it's called ECMP and it should work - check your NAT rules...
but if you need something more cool than ECMP - you create different default routes with different routing-marks, and then mark upload packets according to necessary gateway
Do you mean something like this....
[admin@KKT-HS] /ip firewall mangle> print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic
0 chain=prerouting action=mark-routing new-routing-mark=Wuggers
passthrough=yes src-address=0.0.0.0/0
1 chain=prerouting action=mark-routing new-routing-mark=Internet Users
passthrough=yes src-address=0.0.0.0/0
[admin@KKT-HS] /ip firewall mangle>
[admin@KKT-HS] /ip route> print
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic,
C - connect, S - static, r - rip, b - bgp, o - ospf, m - mme,
B - blackhole, U - unreachable, P - prohibit
# DST-ADDRESS PREF-SRC G GATEWAY DISTANCE IN..
0 A S 0.0.0.0/0 r 178.242.0.200 1 et..
1 A S 0.0.0.0/0 r 172.16.0.200 1 et..
3 ADC 10.0.0.0/30 10.0.0.1 0 wl..
4 ADC 172.16.0.0/24 172.16.0.1 0 et..
5 ADC 178.242.0.0/24 178.242.0.1 0 et..
6 ADC 178.242.1.0/24 178.242.1.1 0 br..
7 A S 178.242.2.0/24 r 10.0.0.2 1 wl..
8 ADC 192.168.0.0/24 192.168.0.10 0 et..
9 A S 192.168.10.0/24 r 178.242.1.2 1 br..
10 A S 192.168.11.0/24 r 10.0.0.2 1 wl..
11 A S 198.54.15.0/24 r 10.0.0.2 1 wl..
[admin@KKT-HS] /ip route>
[admin@KKT-HS] > /ip route rule
[admin@KKT-HS] /ip route rule> print
Flags: X - disabled, I - inactive
0 src-address=0.0.0.0/0 action=lookup table=Wuggers
1 src-address=0.0.0.0/0 action=lookup table=Internet Users
[admin@KKT-HS] /ip route rule>
I had a look at
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Policy_Ro ... erOS_2.9.x
I did the same steps but did no choose any port or protocols becos i want to allow any traffic
Re: How to add 2 gateways and seperate clients
Posted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:05 pm
by Chupaka
chain=prerouting action=mark-routing new-routing-mark=Wuggers
passthrough=yes src-address=0.0.0.0/0
this is completely wrong. you mark ALL packets and route them to the Internet, even if they come from the Internet. src-address should be you LAN addresses. or use in-interface=private
Re: How to add 2 gateways and seperate clients
Posted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 7:19 am
by kameelperdza
Im a bit confused.
I want to allow ip range 198.54.15.0/24 and 192.168.10.0/24 to use 178.242.0.200 as their gateway
And allow 192.168.11.0/24 and 192.168.12.0/24 to use 172.16.0.200 as their gateway.
Can you maybe show me how.
thanx
Re: How to add 2 gateways and seperate clients
Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 2:20 pm
by Chupaka
/ip firewall mangle add chain=prerouting src-address=198.54.15.0/24 action=mark-routing new-routing-mark=r_178
/ip firewall mangle add chain=prerouting src-address=192.168.10.0/24 action=mark-routing new-routing-mark=r_178
/ip firewall mangle add chain=prerouting src-address=192.168.11.0/24 action=mark-routing new-routing-mark=r_172
/ip firewall mangle add chain=prerouting src-address=192.168.12.0/24 action=mark-routing new-routing-mark=r_172
/ip route add gateway=178.242.0.200 routing-mark=r_178
/ip route add gateway=172.16.0.200 routing-mark=r_172
something like that. and if you need routing between those subnets, then you should add one more rule on the top with 'action=accept' and dst-address-list=my_local_subnets, then add all your four subnets to that address list
Re: How to add 2 gateways and seperate clients
Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 2:35 pm
by kameelperdza
Thank you. I managed to figure it out but when i tried to ping i got TTL expired in transit.
So i tried to run tracert and saw that routing was looping. I added wlan1 to /firewall/mangle/rule1 and now is working.
thank you very much
Re: How to add 2 gateways and seperate clients
Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 3:07 pm
by Chupaka
you are welcome =)
Re: How to add 2 gateways and seperate clients
Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 9:16 pm
by fbslim
/ip firewall mangle add chain=prerouting src-address=198.54.15.0/24 action=mark-routing new-routing-mark=r_178
/ip firewall mangle add chain=prerouting src-address=192.168.10.0/24 action=mark-routing new-routing-mark=r_178
/ip firewall mangle add chain=prerouting src-address=192.168.11.0/24 action=mark-routing new-routing-mark=r_172
/ip firewall mangle add chain=prerouting src-address=192.168.12.0/24 action=mark-routing new-routing-mark=r_172
/ip route add gateway=178.242.0.200 routing-mark=r_178
/ip route add gateway=172.16.0.200 routing-mark=r_172
something like that. and if you need routing between those subnets, then you should add one more rule on the top with 'action=accept' and dst-address-list=my_local_subnets, then add all your four subnets to that address list
Мужик!!! Ты гений просто!!! Спасибо огромное!!!