ipv6 routes learnt over ibgp all showing gateway unreachabl
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 8:01 am
Hi
I've been banging my head against a wall today and for some reason I can't get ibgp v6 stuff to work.
The problem is occuring across a number of routers but for this example i'm going to focus on getting 2 working as i'm sure the fix will help all the routers.
Router 1 - AS1001
Router 2 - RB1100x2 - v5.18
Both routers are connected to the same switch
Router 1 Config (ipv4 stuff removed)
interface Loopback0
ipv6 address 2402:7E00::7/128
interface GigabitEthernet0/0/0.207
ipv6 address 2402:7E00::1:11/125
ipv6 ospf 200 area 0
ipv6 router ospf 200
redistribute connected
router bgp 45280
neighbor AS45280-CORE-V6 peer-group
neighbor AS45280-CORE-V6 remote-as 45280
neighbor AS45280-CORE-V6 timers 20 60
neighbor 2402:7E00::3 peer-group AS45280-CORE-V6
neighbor 2402:7E00::3 update-source Loopback0
address-family ipv6
redistribute static
neighbor AS45280-CORE-V6 send-community both
neighbor AS45280-CORE-V6 next-hop-self
neighbor AS45280-CORE-V6 soft-reconfiguration inbound
neighbor AS45280-CORE-V6 prefix-list all-v6-routes in
neighbor AS45280-CORE-V6 prefix-list all-v6-routes out
neighbor AS45280-CORE-V6 route-map AS45280-CORE-V6-policy-in in
neighbor AS45280-CORE-V6 route-map AS45280-CORE-V6-policy-out out
neighbor AS45280-CORE-V6 maximum-prefix 20000 restart 10
neighbor 2402:7E00::3 activate
ipv6 route 2402:7E00::/32 Null0
Router 2 - RB1100x2
/interface bridge
add admin-mac=01:00:00:00:01:00 ageing-time=5m arp=enabled auto-mac=no comment=Loopback disabled=no forward-delay=15s l2mtu=65535 max-message-age=20s mtu=1500 \
name=lobridge priority=0x8000 protocol-mode=none transmit-hold-count=6
add admin-mac=00:00:00:00:00:00 ageing-time=5m arp=enabled auto-mac=yes comment="Links to sw-nztg-sky-stack01" disabled=no forward-delay=15s l2mtu=1598 \
max-message-age=20s mtu=1500 name=bridge1 priority=0x8000 protocol-mode=none transmit-hold-count=6
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 disabled=no edge=auto external-fdb=auto horizon=none interface=ether1 path-cost=10 point-to-point=auto priority=0x80
add bridge=bridge1 disabled=no edge=auto external-fdb=auto horizon=none interface=ether2 path-cost=10 point-to-point=auto priority=0x80
/interface vlan
add arp=enabled comment="Link to sky-core01 \\ 02" disabled=no interface=bridge1 l2mtu=1594 mtu=1500 name=vlan207 use-service-tag=no vlan-id=20
/ipv6 address
add address=2402:7e00::3/128 advertise=no comment=Loopback disabled=no eui-64=no interface=lobridge
add address=2402:7e00::1:13/125 advertise=no comment="Link to sky-core01/02" disabled=no eui-64=no interface=vlan207
/routing ospf-v3 instance
set [ find default=yes ] disabled=no distribute-default=never metric-bgp=auto metric-connected=20 metric-default=1 metric-other-ospf=auto metric-rip=20 \
metric-static=20 name=default redistribute-bgp=no redistribute-connected=no redistribute-other-ospf=no redistribute-rip=no redistribute-static=no router-id=\
114.134.167.3
/routing ospf-v3 area
set [ find default=yes ] area-id=0.0.0.0 disabled=no instance=default name=backbone type=default
/routing ospf-v3 interface
add area=backbone cost=10 dead-interval=40s disabled=no hello-interval=10s instance-id=0 interface=vlan207 network-type=default passive=no priority=1 \
retransmit-interval=5s transmit-delay=1s use-bfd=no
add area=backbone cost=10 dead-interval=40s disabled=no hello-interval=10s instance-id=0 interface=lobridge network-type=default passive=no priority=1 \
retransmit-interval=5s transmit-delay=1s use-bfd=no
/routing bgp peer
add address-families=ipv6 as-override=no default-originate=never disabled=no hold-time=3m in-filter=ALL-ROUTES instance=default multihop=no name=v6-sky-core01 \
nexthop-choice=force-self out-filter=ALL-ROUTES passive=no remote-address=2402:7e00::7%all remote-as=45280 remove-private-as=no route-reflect=no \
tcp-md5-key="" ttl=default update-source=lobridge use-bfd=no
From the cisco I can see it advertising routes - in particular 2402:7E00::/32
rt-nztg-sky-core01#show bgp ipv6 unicast neighbors 2402:7E00::3 advertised-routes | in 2402:7E00::/32
*> 2402:7E00::/32 :: 0 32768 ?
On the mikrotik I can see the route being learnt but the status is unreachable - thus doesn install in route table and won't advertise to external peers
/ipv6 route print detail where received-from=v6-sky-core01
334 Db dst-address=2402:7e00::/32 gateway=2402:7e00::7 gateway-status=2402:7e00::7 unreachable distance=200 scope=40 target-scope=30 bgp-local-pref=100 bgp-med>
bgp-origin=incomplete received-from=v6-sky-core01
From the mikrotik if I ping 2402:7e00::7 through winbox I get an answer from 2402:7e00::1:11
I bet i've missed something... any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!
I've been banging my head against a wall today and for some reason I can't get ibgp v6 stuff to work.
The problem is occuring across a number of routers but for this example i'm going to focus on getting 2 working as i'm sure the fix will help all the routers.
Router 1 - AS1001
Router 2 - RB1100x2 - v5.18
Both routers are connected to the same switch
Router 1 Config (ipv4 stuff removed)
interface Loopback0
ipv6 address 2402:7E00::7/128
interface GigabitEthernet0/0/0.207
ipv6 address 2402:7E00::1:11/125
ipv6 ospf 200 area 0
ipv6 router ospf 200
redistribute connected
router bgp 45280
neighbor AS45280-CORE-V6 peer-group
neighbor AS45280-CORE-V6 remote-as 45280
neighbor AS45280-CORE-V6 timers 20 60
neighbor 2402:7E00::3 peer-group AS45280-CORE-V6
neighbor 2402:7E00::3 update-source Loopback0
address-family ipv6
redistribute static
neighbor AS45280-CORE-V6 send-community both
neighbor AS45280-CORE-V6 next-hop-self
neighbor AS45280-CORE-V6 soft-reconfiguration inbound
neighbor AS45280-CORE-V6 prefix-list all-v6-routes in
neighbor AS45280-CORE-V6 prefix-list all-v6-routes out
neighbor AS45280-CORE-V6 route-map AS45280-CORE-V6-policy-in in
neighbor AS45280-CORE-V6 route-map AS45280-CORE-V6-policy-out out
neighbor AS45280-CORE-V6 maximum-prefix 20000 restart 10
neighbor 2402:7E00::3 activate
ipv6 route 2402:7E00::/32 Null0
Router 2 - RB1100x2
/interface bridge
add admin-mac=01:00:00:00:01:00 ageing-time=5m arp=enabled auto-mac=no comment=Loopback disabled=no forward-delay=15s l2mtu=65535 max-message-age=20s mtu=1500 \
name=lobridge priority=0x8000 protocol-mode=none transmit-hold-count=6
add admin-mac=00:00:00:00:00:00 ageing-time=5m arp=enabled auto-mac=yes comment="Links to sw-nztg-sky-stack01" disabled=no forward-delay=15s l2mtu=1598 \
max-message-age=20s mtu=1500 name=bridge1 priority=0x8000 protocol-mode=none transmit-hold-count=6
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 disabled=no edge=auto external-fdb=auto horizon=none interface=ether1 path-cost=10 point-to-point=auto priority=0x80
add bridge=bridge1 disabled=no edge=auto external-fdb=auto horizon=none interface=ether2 path-cost=10 point-to-point=auto priority=0x80
/interface vlan
add arp=enabled comment="Link to sky-core01 \\ 02" disabled=no interface=bridge1 l2mtu=1594 mtu=1500 name=vlan207 use-service-tag=no vlan-id=20
/ipv6 address
add address=2402:7e00::3/128 advertise=no comment=Loopback disabled=no eui-64=no interface=lobridge
add address=2402:7e00::1:13/125 advertise=no comment="Link to sky-core01/02" disabled=no eui-64=no interface=vlan207
/routing ospf-v3 instance
set [ find default=yes ] disabled=no distribute-default=never metric-bgp=auto metric-connected=20 metric-default=1 metric-other-ospf=auto metric-rip=20 \
metric-static=20 name=default redistribute-bgp=no redistribute-connected=no redistribute-other-ospf=no redistribute-rip=no redistribute-static=no router-id=\
114.134.167.3
/routing ospf-v3 area
set [ find default=yes ] area-id=0.0.0.0 disabled=no instance=default name=backbone type=default
/routing ospf-v3 interface
add area=backbone cost=10 dead-interval=40s disabled=no hello-interval=10s instance-id=0 interface=vlan207 network-type=default passive=no priority=1 \
retransmit-interval=5s transmit-delay=1s use-bfd=no
add area=backbone cost=10 dead-interval=40s disabled=no hello-interval=10s instance-id=0 interface=lobridge network-type=default passive=no priority=1 \
retransmit-interval=5s transmit-delay=1s use-bfd=no
/routing bgp peer
add address-families=ipv6 as-override=no default-originate=never disabled=no hold-time=3m in-filter=ALL-ROUTES instance=default multihop=no name=v6-sky-core01 \
nexthop-choice=force-self out-filter=ALL-ROUTES passive=no remote-address=2402:7e00::7%all remote-as=45280 remove-private-as=no route-reflect=no \
tcp-md5-key="" ttl=default update-source=lobridge use-bfd=no
From the cisco I can see it advertising routes - in particular 2402:7E00::/32
rt-nztg-sky-core01#show bgp ipv6 unicast neighbors 2402:7E00::3 advertised-routes | in 2402:7E00::/32
*> 2402:7E00::/32 :: 0 32768 ?
On the mikrotik I can see the route being learnt but the status is unreachable - thus doesn install in route table and won't advertise to external peers
/ipv6 route print detail where received-from=v6-sky-core01
334 Db dst-address=2402:7e00::/32 gateway=2402:7e00::7 gateway-status=2402:7e00::7 unreachable distance=200 scope=40 target-scope=30 bgp-local-pref=100 bgp-med>
bgp-origin=incomplete received-from=v6-sky-core01
From the mikrotik if I ping 2402:7e00::7 through winbox I get an answer from 2402:7e00::1:11
I bet i've missed something... any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!