Page 1 of 1
Is there a way to check thresholds on things like Ping
Posted: Thu May 02, 2013 11:44 pm
by jasonwhand
I wanted to know if there is a way to set a threshold on response time on ping. So say you would trigger a notification if the ping response was above 300ms or something.
Does anyone know of a way to do that with the Dude?
Re: Is there a way to check thresholds on things like Ping
Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 12:05 am
by lebowski
Yes create your own ping out of the ping command. The dude will give you false positives and re-pinging things will improve the RTT. RTT in the dude has neat features...
if(array_element(ping(device_property("FirstAddress")), 0) < 200, "", "RTT > 200ms")
Ping2.png
HTH,
Lebowski
Re: Is there a way to check thresholds on things like Ping
Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 11:45 am
by mysz0n
can't get this function running on my dude 4.0beta3
rewrite everything, set
if(array_element(ping(device_property("FirstAddress")), 0) < 2, "", "RTT > 200ms")
and with 15ms ping to the device - i didn't get any info about ping response. why ?
Re: Is there a way to check thresholds on things like Ping
Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 2:52 pm
by marcos86
Hi everyone,
Is there a way to define a function which make ping every second. Like we know, Dude can not monitor by less than 2 senconds ping. Maybe creating a new probe which do just that we can solve this problem with a workarround.
Does someone know which exactly function we will have to define?
Thank you so much in advance.
Marcos.
Re: Is there a way to check thresholds on things like Ping
Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2021 5:39 pm
by chechito
Yes create your own ping out of the ping command. The dude will give you false positives and re-pinging things will improve the RTT. RTT in the dude has neat features...
if(array_element(ping(device_property("FirstAddress")), 0) < 200, "", "RTT > 200ms")
Ping2.png
HTH,
Lebowski
very useful, thank you