Page 1 of 1

Is there a way to check thresholds on things like Ping

Posted: Thu May 02, 2013 11:44 pm
by jasonwhand
I wanted to know if there is a way to set a threshold on response time on ping. So say you would trigger a notification if the ping response was above 300ms or something.

Does anyone know of a way to do that with the Dude?

Re: Is there a way to check thresholds on things like Ping

Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 12:05 am
by lebowski
Yes create your own ping out of the ping command. The dude will give you false positives and re-pinging things will improve the RTT. RTT in the dude has neat features...

if(array_element(ping(device_property("FirstAddress")), 0) < 200, "", "RTT > 200ms")
Ping2.png
HTH,
Lebowski

Re: Is there a way to check thresholds on things like Ping

Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 11:45 am
by mysz0n
can't get this function running on my dude 4.0beta3
rewrite everything, set
if(array_element(ping(device_property("FirstAddress")), 0) < 2, "", "RTT > 200ms")

and with 15ms ping to the device - i didn't get any info about ping response. why ?

Re: Is there a way to check thresholds on things like Ping

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 2:52 pm
by marcos86
Hi everyone,

Is there a way to define a function which make ping every second. Like we know, Dude can not monitor by less than 2 senconds ping. Maybe creating a new probe which do just that we can solve this problem with a workarround.

Does someone know which exactly function we will have to define?

Thank you so much in advance.

Marcos.

Re: Is there a way to check thresholds on things like Ping

Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2021 5:39 pm
by chechito
Yes create your own ping out of the ping command. The dude will give you false positives and re-pinging things will improve the RTT. RTT in the dude has neat features...

if(array_element(ping(device_property("FirstAddress")), 0) < 200, "", "RTT > 200ms")
Ping2.png

HTH,
Lebowski
very useful, thank you